Top 5 Tracks of February & March 2017

So I haven’t actually posted on here for a while (in fact my last post on here was me writing about my favourite songs of January). This has been mainly due to me writing for other platforms and not really making the time to post on here as well. But I’ve decided that from now on I’m going to make an effort to post on here every oher week at least. I’m thinking that I’ll post about the songs that I’ve been listening to on here and primarily post my reviews on the other platforms I write for (UK Grime and SpiceUK).

So to get back into the swing of things here are my Top 5 tracks of February & March 2017:

5 – Steel Banglez – Money Ft MoStack, MIST, Haile & Abra Cadabra

Bringing together four of the best in the UK rap scene, the beat on this track is heavy and dark and the verses are sick. Have to say that personally Abra gives the best verse on this but I suppose I am biased as he is my favourite of all the rappers on this song, and I find his gritty voice and flow alone make him one of the most exciting and interesting UK rappers around.

4 – J Hus – Did You See

Now I’m a big fan of J Hus at the moment, his features this year have been excellent and he has certainly not dissapointed on his first single of the year. It’s a smooth, catchy tune and definitely has me intrigued for his album (which I’m really hoping drops soon!).

3 – Drake – KMT Ft Giggs

Arguably the track that caused the most contention and talk from Drakes “More Life” playlist, “KMT” is by far my favourite track on this project. In my opinion Giggs absolutely steals the show here and completely makes this track his own, his presence is phenomenal and it’s incredible to see him getting the recognition he deserves on this track with Drake.

2 – Avelino – Energy Ft Stormzy & Skepta

It can never be denied that Avelino definitely has energy! On this Track he combines with two of grimes heavyweights in Stormzy and Skepta to bring a blistering track which is just begging to be played live on the biggest of stages. I would definitely reccomend chercking out Avelino’s appearance on Radio 1Xtra’s live lounge where he performs this song live as well as giving a very special rendition of Chance the Rapper’s “All Night”.

1 – Stormzy – Bad Boys Ft Ghetts & J Hus

So I was MASSIVELY excited for the release of Stormzy’s debut album “Gang Signs & Prayer” and that’s putting it lightly. I have to say the album definitely lived up to my expectations, I absolutely loved the variety of tracks Stormzy brought on this album. My favourite without any question however was “Bad Boys”, I absolutely loved the dark, sinister tone of the song! Both Stormzy and Ghetts deliver excellent contrasting verses on this track but for me it’s J Hus that makes this song for me; his chorus elevates this song for me and makes it by far and away the best on the album. Believe me if the past two months have told me anything it’s that this will be a big year for J Hus.

Leave a Reply

